Tuesday, May 20, 2014

"I Spy" Read-Alikes

Does your child like the I Spy Books by Walter Wick?  How about trying some other books worthy of spying challenges such as these great books:

Animalia by Graeme Base
An alphabet book with fantastic and detailed pictures, bearing such labels as "Lazy lions lounging in the local library" and "Victor V. Vulture the Vaudeville ventriloquist, versatile virtuoso of vociferous verbosity, vexatiously vocalizing at the Valhalla Variety Venue

The Eleventh Hour: A Curious Mystery by Graeme Base
An elephant's eleventh birthday party is marked by eleven games preceding the banquet to be eaten at the eleventh hour; but when the time to eat arrives, the birthday feast has disappeared. The reader is invited to guess the thief.

The Great Art Treasure Hunt by Doris Kutschbach
See what treasures you can find by looking at art.

Look Alikes by Joan Steiner
Simple verses challenge readers to identify the everyday objects used to construct twelve three-dimensional scenes in Lookalike Land.

Look and See: A What's-Not-the-Same Game by Bill Kontzias
This is quite the innovative interactive puzzle book. Eye-catching photographs of toys, trinkets, and more present spot-the-difference puzzles that support early learning skills.  The objects  move around on opposite pages and new ones are added or taken away.  It makes a great way to learn about comparisons too!

I Spy in the Sky by Edward Gibbs
Birds' eyes appear through die-cut pages.  Look through the hole in the page and guess what bird will be on the next page!

I Spy on the Farm by Edward Gibbs
An interactive introduction to farm animals invites youngsters to make animal noises and practice color and letter recognition while peeping through a spy hole on every page and observing clues to guess which animal will be revealed next in the story.

I Spy Pets by Edward Gibbs
Invites young readers to guess which pet animal will be revealed using the given clues and a spy hole.

I Spy Under the Sea by Edward Gibbs
Look through the spy holes and count the sea creatures in this underwater take on the classic game.  Guess what undersea creature will appear on the next page.

I Spy With My Little Eye by Edward Gibbs
Peeking through the pages, children will be able to spot a different colored animal every time, and guess what it is using a simple, factual clue. Bold illustrations and die-cut holes will absorb young readers as they learn about colors and animal names.

In this series of books, see if you can spot seven animals, seven toys, spot seven things at school, and seven objects found during holidays.

No comments: